Traditions



I've come to realise what is expected of me: a wish list. For Christmas, birthdays and other occasions that "requires" gifts. And reluctantly, but obediently and increasingly more enthusiasticly, I write them.

I have always enjoyed looking for gifts, I really like finding the perfect gift that someone wants but haven't thought of buying, and to me the surprise bit has often been as important as the actual gift. Moreover, I also *really* like to receive surprise gifts.

In the past, my parents have usually spoilt everything by telling me beforehand what I'm going to get (sometimes even bringing me with them shopping for it). Alternatively, I get the same thing that I've received for the past ten years. "Oh, it's so practical! Then we know that you like what you are going to get." Yeah, great! I do like the gifts, but the surprise part is gone completely.

When I met my partner I learned that there are other intricate ways to do it as well. In his family the tradition is to write wish lists. Everyone writes perhaps five or six things that they wish for, things they have thought of, things they would like to have, but haven't bought yet. The first time it was a shock. I was sitting there staring at a blank e-mail window, not knowing what to write, but then I learned the trick: When you come to think of something you would like to have for Christmas (even if it's in July), don't buy it! Just add it to your mental wish list and remember to wish for them when the time comes. Since I'm bad at remembering these things I decided to use Wishabi on Flickr. That's where I keep my list, never further away than a mouse click.

So... on my list right now: the amazingly beautiful Decemberdage (which admittedly is a bit difficult to get hold of, but I haven't given up yet) by Dorrit Elmquist and Birgitta Wolfgang Drejer, equally interesting and beautiful Franske forbindelser by Lise Septimus Krogh, designer Holger Strøm's classic IQ light, my favourite tea from Kusmi (available at Urban Living), a good frying pan is something I really need, and why not crisp, white bed linen such as these from The White Company. I kind of like this tradition now. Not a "proper" surprise, but there are at least a few things to choose from on the list. And we do step away from the list occasionally — if we find the perfect gift.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0