Something to look forward to



We've decided. I've just booked a hotel room at Hotel Eburon in Belgian Tongeren. Perhaps it's a bit premature. We still don't know what the situation will be in the upcoming summer. But I do hope things will work out.

My partner is in a rather difficult situation where he has been laid off from work and the lay-off period is pretty long (actually until August or September). It is usually custom to let people go and find other jobs (which would decrease the time the company has to pay his wages) but that has not happened, so he's spending most of his time at work doing nothing. In March he has probably spent an hour or an hour and a half on tasks that has been assigned to him by his manager. The rest of the time he just have to keep himself busy, but he still can't look for work elsewhere from there, and we don't know what the future will look like.

I'm in a bit more "safe" situation at my work, but the work environment is extremely bad, mainly because a few people are trying to gain advantages by shutting everyone else out of the decision process. There has been no balancing leadership to speak of and now we have been forced to address these issues directly. A few of us have spoken up, talked to managers on a higher level, decided to be frank about things that have been happening for the last 18 months or so. It's difficult and we don't know for sure what it might lead to.

I think that I, by looking for vacation spots, have been trying to decide things for myself, if only to be able to actually make decisions. I'm tired of uncertainty. T. points out, however, that booking the hotel and planning our trip can not be taken for granted either. I know he's right, but wish he wasn't. I need something fun to look forward to. Badly.

Image from Reisreporter.be.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0