Tracing the past



I'm tracing my family's lineages and history at the moment, as is T., and we have both managed to find out quite a lot. My own family tree now has more than 560 people in it, primarily spread out geographically in the counties of Dalarna and Värmland, but I'm not done yet so I know it will grow even further.

One of the difficulties in my own pursuits has been that the church records burned in 1797 in my own home parish (where the majority of my ancestors also lived), which makes it almost impossible to trace ancestors further than the early 18th century, but I also have ancestors elsewhere and in some cases these can be traced back to the 13th century.

On my mother's as well as my father's side there are links to the Svinhufvud and Stierna families and I have learned that one of my ancestors, Engelbertus Olai Helsingus, was in fact Gustaf Vasa's priest. (Vasa reigned in Sweden between 1523 and 1560.) At this point in time there are quite a few other lose ends and I'm really looking forward to further explorations.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0